4 Non-Fiction Paragraphs

The following four paragraphs are my response to the request to create writing based upon our four types of non-fiction: Narrative, Descriptive, Persuasive, and Expository. Three of the four paragraphs were created from our experiences at the river, so please bare with it if the river theme gets too redundant for you. And also, don’t be afraid to comment and give your honest feedback on these works; it is non-fiction after all. Any feedback is good feedback, so don’t be shy.

20188577886_1cd1a7aeda_z

Narrative:

Those of us who are too anxious, begin to trot to the edge of the water, relieved that they are now here. This place of relief from the hardships back in our temporary jail, the school, is their salvation. Here they have freedom and exemption from tests, quizzes, marks, and our wardens, the teachers. Any struggle they have is picked up with a stone, and tossed aside with ignorance to the world. These stones they walk upon poise no struggle as their feet crush and grind them into dirt. Some sit in contentment and begin to write away their worries, whilst others embrace the childish nature that buries itself into our hearts, as they continue to play and laugh. Onlookers watch in distaste as the flock of these newly branded toddlers storm the waters and ruin what quiet remained. They had no concept of their merriment, and could not begin to realize the significance of the release from a bottled-up existence. The outsiders rise to their feet, and leave, perhaps jealous of the smiles and laughter painted in front of them. These children are the only ones who remain now, but this isolation is absent in their minds, as the initial explosion of energy begins to die, and the activity along the shore slowly comes to halt. Exhaustion has struck their bodies but not their souls. Laughter continues as the call to return back to our shared home comes. Zombies rise to their feet, slowly and reluctantly, and trudge along the path. Back to work, back to stress, back to life.

Descriptive:

The course and jagged rocks poke and stab at my legs, leaving me uncomfortable and sore in all positions I sit in. My mind is unable to focus with this discomfort, which is added upon by the aroma of the river in front of me. It’s scent is not as non-existent as water should be, instead carrying an odor of fish and sewage into my nasal cavity. As if this wasn’t enough, my ears are now being bombarded by the sounds of laughter and screaming. They ricochet into my ears and pick away at my sanity, nagging me to join in their merriment, but I forbid myself and continue to scribble away at my paper. But this scribbling, it tires my arm, my wrist, my palm, my fingers. They begin to ache more as I think about them, and the pulsating sting of pain creeps into my skin and muscle. I rest my pen to ease the agony, as my eyes begin to drift from place to place, attempting to note anything worth my time. They pan from the water, to the people visiting, and find a dull, monotonous nature to the landscape. My eyes shut, calming my mind and soul, finding the blackness much more interesting than the world around me. Here, my thoughts are the landscape, and I am the river; always flowing and never ending. I open my mind and my eyes once more to the world around me, re-immersing myself in reality, and pick up my pen. It’s smooth plastic rubs in my fingers as it moves across the page, detailing what my head had created behind my eyes. I finish the page within minutes, close my book, and leave.

Persuasive:

To the students who dawdle,

 I would recommend that you either learn how, or demonstrate the ability, to walk faster. Whether this be on a field trip to an area around the school, or in the hallways, it does not matter. The fact is, when you decide to be sluggish and slow down your pace, you slow down the pace of all others around you. Now, you are not only wasting your own time, but that of the other students. As a high school student, you should know the value of being punctual. This allows you to get in more time to learn, improve, and better your lifestyle. If you act in a motivated and dutiful way, others will think of you as a more responsible and individual young adult, who has their plan figured out and are ready for any oncoming adversity. There is also the collateral damage you do to the people you slow down that you should consider. They have a place to go, as do you, and most likely want to get there on time. By holding them up, you are showing disrespect and giving off the impression that they are no better than yourself, and not worth the time to quicken your feet. If you wish to continue to be seem as an irresponsible and lazy child, who is just nonchalantly passing through life, then by all means, continue. However, you should be wise and remember that success is not achieved by those in last place. As they say, the early bird catches the worm.

Expository:

 The man and his wife huddle over to their child, who is sitting in his baby carriage. He is parked by the edge of the rocks, along with the family dog. His father steps up first and says some unintelligible words to the baby. The child seems unimpressed and has no reaction towards this attempt, losing focus in what was in front of him. The man backs up with a sigh, comforted by the mother’s hand on his back. She is next to approach the child, and does so with great success. The baby’s face immediately lit up with a smile, without any hesitation or reluctance. The father scratches his head in defeat, and occupies himself with the canine that was sitting nearby. Here, he has more luck in creating some form of happiness as he rubs the dog’s head. The child is picked up and carried on the shoulder of his mother towards the river. His gaze is cast upon the water, causing a disgruntled expression on the young one’s face. He begins to cry so they return him to his stroller, and along with the dog, they begin to walk back. As quickly as they arrived, they leave.

Ben. “Bow River Walk.” Photo. Flickr August 8, 2015. Oct. 1, 2015. <https://www.flickr.com/photos/benandlarry/20188577886>

2 thoughts on “4 Non-Fiction Paragraphs”

  1. Dear Lucas!

    What an amazing piece of writing you have here. I really enjoyed reading your 4 non-fictional paragraphs at the river and can really relate to the them. Like the feeling you get when you are sitting on the rocks. I really enjoyed your persuasive paragraph the most because I can totally relate to the hallway situation. Some people just got to learn how to walk faster. As I was reading it, I kind of questioned myself if I was one of the slow walkers or not. I also enjoyed the great use of vocab you had. I didn’t know what some of the words meant myself. One of my favourite lines from your descriptive paragraph was the metaphor “I am the river: always flowing, never ending”.

    Something maybe you can improve on for your next blogs are visuals. I loved that one visual you had in the beginning but I kind of felt that each paragraph deserved a visual of its own to enhance your blog and make it even better.

    I really enjoyed reading this blog of yours and look forward to reading more!
    Andrew 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Andrew! I have to admit these pieces aren’t my best works, but thanks for liking them. I definitely agree that I need more pictures or visuals in my writing, because it can really help the reader visualize while they read. Hope you keep reading my stuff.
      -Lucas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *