O Captain! My Captain!

Here is my emulation of the famous Walt Whitman poem, “Captain! My Captain!” In Whitman’s piece, the poem presents connections to the assassination of president Lincoln. In my piece, I decided to make a more nautical epic, describing the tale of a seafaring crew of sailors.

If you are unfamiliar with the original poem, here is a link to read it: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/45474


“…for there is nothing mysterious to a seaman unless it be the sea itself, which is the mistress of his existence…” – Joseph Conrad

O Captain! my Captain! a storm is soon to come

The ship is fighting every wave, the crew is sick and dumb;

The open sea, kills the free, yet challenges the daring,

To test our might against its wrath, the Sea God is a’staring:

But O heart! heart! heart!

O the dripping beads of sweat,

Where at the helm my Captain stands,

to take Poseidon’s bet.

O Captain! my Captain! stand fast and hold your ground;

Rise up! – for you the crew resumes – for you they stick around;

For you the sails are pulled a’hoist – for you the sky sheds tear;

For you the waves, they crash and bend, their power instills no fear;

Here Captain! dear father!

This ship beneath your feet;

It is some dream that at the helm,

You’re laughing at defeat.

My Captain does not answer, his eyes are wild and red;

My father does not feel the sea, that craves to have him dead;

The vessel high upon a wave, its voyage far from done;

Our fearful trip, the failing ship, Poseidon knows he’s won;

Exult, O Gods, and pray, O men!

But  I with mournful tread,

Firm at helm my Captain cries,

“Brace for waves ahead!”

No man knows the tale of my Captain’s last attempt;

How he left the sea god vexed,  full of new contempt;

The crew unsealed, their eyes revealed, the storm was now a’passing,

And at the helm stood you there, your mighty will surpassing;

O heart! heart! heart!

O the cheers of all your men,

O Captain! my Captain! at the helm,

You’ve beat the Gods again.


Kumpf, Todd. “Captains Log.” Image. toddkumpf Unknown. Jan. 8, 2016. <http://www.toddkumpf.com/index.php?id=ship_storm>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *