Ode to Dog

This poem is dedicated to Korona, whom I never got to say goodbye to. This is my farewell.

Dog,

the walking carpet

that tracks in leaves, sticks and mud,

leaving a trail of bread crumbs

for me to follow.

The walking sink

that would clean my face, my hands, my feet,

my heart,

with the cold gentle licks of her tongue.

Intent on making the day more comfortable,

pillow, headrest,

friend.

You, who I would talk to when

nobody was around; You

who was a speechless confidant, whose

silence was most reassuring

when it felt like the world was caving in,

Your fur kept me warm.

Conversing about the future,

jobs and the world, you,

my political canine fence sitter would

never take a side;

I admired that.

You would chase a

ball as I chased

dreams, by my side,

intent on getting scratched

behind the ear,

as all I heard in

the night, was

your howls at the back

gate. We said you

barked at the strangers in the alley,

I thought it was your

desire to see

the sun again.

In the those hours of

light,

you knew that my

love would return;

the jingle of the leash,

the sound of the fridge

door opening,

and your stubby little

tail, wagging.

On the days I had

school, the thief of our

time spent together,

I’d awake to find you on your

bed, watching me

get ready to come home,

preparing yourself for jumping

on top of me.

You frightened me for

years and years,

as when night fell, you

would leave to make your

noise at the moon;

I could not sleep until

I heard you come back inside

safe.

When you got lost,

chasing a

rabbit and the first

thing that found

you was a

car,

I could not sleep.

Through medicines,

stitches,

shaved legs and

cones, you

stayed by my side.

I remember the

grey,

soft,

aged hair begin to grow

under your feet and on

your face;

you were always my puppy.

Dog, you were stronger than

I, as no tears

were shed by you,

on the day you were first

ill with cancer.

I watched you slow;

runs were now walks, and

your naps were

long and many.

I stayed by your

side as you stopped

eating.

No

meat, no cheese,

not even the yogurt

you seemed to love.

The only thing I could feed

you was my time, to sate

your suffering.

Suffering.

I’m sorry I was not

there when you were taken,

without my knowing.

To hold your paw as

you grew sleepy, one last

time, I would give

anything.

Dog, you’ve left me now,

and I hope somewhere

you are still getting those

scratches behind your ears;

your bed is still here,

as if I expect to see you there

one morning.

At night I still

wait to hear your return,

though your door has been

sealed off.

I still open it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *